Sunday, 22 May 2011

Groves silences De Gale in the ring




In one of the most eagerly anticipated domestic fights in the last ten years, George Groves proved to De Gale that his not balls over brains, with a tatical victory over his fearce rival.

All of the pre-fight build up, with the majority of the bad mouthing coming from the De Gale camp, had created alot of talk by pundits and joe public. From speaking to people myself, the majority thought that Groves was u
p against it, but hoped he could pull something out of the bag and shush the trash-talking, verging on arrogant De Gale, who we must remember, was only in his tenth professional fight, and had previously fought against come forward opponents.

After all the trash talking was over, it was time for business. And as it got closer to the 10.30 start time, the atmosphere in the o2 arena had reached boiling point and it resembled the kind of atmospheres that were created by the now iconic battles between Benn vs Eubank, fights that have been etched into my memory since I was a kid. As the two fighters entered the ring, it was clear that the crowd were on Groves' side, hoping that the "ugly ginger kid" would shut De Gale up.

Personally, I hoped that groves would shut De Gale up, but always feared that if he went into the fight with the same mentality as he did in the Kelly Anderson fight, then de gale would have been too clasy for him.

As the fight began one thing was clear, Adam Booth had a plan set out for beating De Gale, and it didn't involve having a tear up with him. Groves was fighting from the outside using a lot of lateral movement, looking for counter punches. In the early rounds, it was clear that Groves had out-thought De Gale, as even though De Gale controlled the centre of the ring, he never asserted himself with punches.

By the half way point in the fight, Adam Booth told Groves that De Gale had run out of ideas, and it seemed true. The second half of the fight was much closer however, with De Gale, shortening the distance between the two fighters and beginnig to land some cleaner punches.

The ninth round seemed to shows real signs that fight was back in De Gales court, as he landed a beautiful left on Groves, and then landed another good one-two before the end of the round, and Groves' guard had lowered, worrying signs that he was maybe reverting to type, which would of played right into De Gales hands.

However this was not this case as Groves piled the pressure back on to De Gale in the tenth, with a flurry of shots, and at this point De Gale seemed distracted by a cut, as he was constantly dabbing the blood away.

By the twelth round, it was clear that it was a close fight, with the feeling that De Gale needed a knockdown or a knockout to win the fight, and to be fair he tried to force the issue in the early exchanges, but Groves, refusing to be denied ended the round the stronger, caught De Gale with some heavy combinations.

It was an evenly-matched, sometimes non-event of a fight, James De Gale showed tatical inefficiencies that ultimately cost him the fight, albeit it only just on the scorecards.

A delighted Groves at the end added: “I showed that he can't beat me. I can't lose. I will not let anyone beat me. That's what I've got inside. I will always find an answer."

”No disrespect to James DeGale, I've trash-talked him far too much. He's a tremendous fighter."

Tonight was the ultimate case of a bark being louder that the bite. de gale never came out and imposed himself with punches. I'm not a boxing expert, I have never thought in my life (unless being heavyweight champion on fightnight 2011 counts) but even i could see that the uppercut should have been a puch that de gale should have tried to utilse more.

This was a very tense, evenly matched fight, that could easily be made to happen again. Frank Warren was in demand of a rematch. But I feel as though these two fighters have the potential to meet each other again in the future, and who knows, it could be with a world title at stake next time.

On a slightly lighter note there were three moments that tickled me during the broadcast.

1. Adam booth getting one up on De Gale, saying that he can "forget the bet". at the pre-fight press conference, de gale offered in a bet to cover groves' wage if he beat him.

2. De gale and his trainer celebrating when they heard "and still undefeated", forgetting that a Mr Groves was also undefeated going into the fight. looked slightly silly when the decision was awrded in groves' favour.

3. Frank warrens interview. his head was swaying from side to side so much you'd think he was watching a tennis match.

Sunday, 9 January 2011

The Ashes: My man of the series

After having time to reflect and have a few victory sips of my coffee after a overall dominant display from the England boys I have made my verdict on the man of the series... But let me first mention the men who I didn't choose...


James Anderson - Had the best wicket haul of any English bowler since the 1950's. Was a superb leader of the bowling attack and is such a
joy to watch when in form.

I remember when he first burst onto the scene, swinging the ball around corners at the
World Cup, barely able to say boo to a goose in interviews. Since then he has had a real journey as a player. He struggled to
fulfil his early promise in test cricket, had problems with his action, then injuries thrown into the mix, people a couple of years ago were writing him off.



It is a credit to him as a person that he has come back and persevered through these times and it has helped him gain an inner strength within himself. He now comes out and regularly does interviews and displays a great knowledge of the game.

Oh, and his bowling has improved too! Was able to swing the kookaburra ball he has struggled with in the past. He showed great control and discipline when the ball got softer to maintain pressure on the Aussie bowlers. He was also able to swing the ball which ever way he wanted when the ball began to reverse, the best example of this was the way he worked over Michael Clark in the final test.

Overall a great display from Jimmy and hopefully a sign of things to come from 2011 from the Burnley Bullet.

Alastair Cook - Broke so many records I'm not going to bother to mention them
all. To summarise, scored more runs than you normally see on a countdown maths problem, spent more minutes at the crease that Shane Warne spent bed hopping and showed more grace than David Beckham and co. being given a certificate for gaining one vote by a certain self loving french whats
a name.

To put it into perspective, this was a man who was being named as the weak lin
k before the series, with many a pundit and settee experts 9including myself) questioning his place in the side.

How we were proved wrong in fabulous fashion. He showed great mental strength to play some gritty innings and really demoralise the Aussie bowlers, who never seemed to have a plan to stop him.

Let's the that the man who runs scored is only behind the wizard that is Tendulkar when looking at this stage of their careers can carry on to be a great, because he has the tempriment to be a England legend.


And my man of the series is.....

Andy Flower - The man behind the scenes has let the players take the limelight throughout the series, has always played back any compliments towards himself with a faultless straight bat. The man has transformed this England side into a real unit with direction, it says it all that Cook, Petersen and Prior were all under pressure coming into this series, because they all know that under Flower you need to be at your best or you will be out, it's a simple as that.

Example: Finn was dropped after the third test, the word being used was that he was 'tired'. He may have been, but the fact is that in the last game Finn had shown signs of scattergun bowling and was bowling a tad short.

The way Flower and Strauss have lead this side demands a great deal of respect and praise. They have been able to create a great sense of harmony and made all members of the squad feel valuable. The sense of it being a bit of a old boys club being part if the side has gone, the younger players are made to feel important, allowed the same guidance and support that the more established members of the team are given.

To put it simply, I truly believe that if it wasn't for Flower and Strauss, E ngland fans and players wouldn't be where they are now, poking a very sharp stick at the Aussies, and who can blame us?

There is still a one day series to play, but if I'm honest, I really couldn't give a stuff, for the first time in my lifetime we have won the Ashes in Australia, and I'm going to savour the moment for a little while longer yet...


Saturday, 18 December 2010

There may be trouble ahead...

The word momentum has become almost a cricketing cliché, but it always surprises me just how quickly momentum can change during the course of a cricket match. Like most people when I woke up on Thursday morning to see Australia 268 all out and England leaving the field 28-0, I had a strange sensation in my stomach. At the time I thought it was confidence, a sense of excitement, the ashes coming home before Christmas. If you ask me now, I will say (and be lying) that it was a sense of nervousness, because we should never write off the Aussies.

Why wouldn't I, or many England or India fans have felt the same on Thursday? By the end of day one of the third test, India would have been saying "we saw this rubbish not too long ago", and England fans would have still seen Mitchell Johnson as a bowler in shocking form.

The pivotal moments in this test have come in the first innings. Having Australia 68-5, England need to show a more ruthless touch, to not let their foot off the Australian throat, but to instead stamp down, jump if needs be. The match should have been killed off their and then. Instead Mike Hussey (now leading run scorer in the series) yet again got stuck in, a consistent sense of calm when the rest of his colleagues seem adamant on gifting their wickets to a below par England attack.

Perhaps the most significant moment was Mitchell Johnson's 62 was exactly what he needed. To be dropped from the second test after what was quite frankly a shocking display in the opener and to come back the way he has is fantastic for Australia and more importantly for the series. The series was looking eerily one sided, but there was always the thought that Australia could only get better. The thing that worries me is that their batting could still improve, and if the last two day splay have proved anything, its that when Australia are fired up and ready for the fight, a number of the England players lose their sparkle.

England at 81-5, with Bell and Anderson starting the day, will do well if they can drag the game out till tea, and the top order, Strauss, Cook, Trott, Pietersen and Collingwood have alot to answer for, because on a track with pace, they have all been found technically wanting.

Like I said though, it does make the next test a compelling watch, I hope from a biased sake England can come back fighting, hopefully this match is nothing more than a wake up call.

Quick word on the title... woke up to my dad singing this, still don't know whether it was regarding the cricket score or the 5 inches of snow!

Friday, 25 June 2010

World Cup so far...

Currently watching Brazil vs Portgual, two flair teams coming together to show us how to foul each other. As Mick McCarthy puts it 'I haven't got a hat, but if he scores I'm prepared to go and buy one, and eat it.'

This World Cup had the potential to disappoint, especially after the first round of games, or as they should now be renamed the "we must not try to win" games.The best example of this is Ivory Coast vs Portugal. Sven and his Ikea loving crionies must be kicking themselves with their diamond covered heels right now, not having a go at Portugal, now they just need the small matter of 8 goals in the next 15 minutes, I know they're playing North Korea but still I have my doubts.

Then recently it began to spark into life, Portugal's 7 against North Korea, Messi flying and Maradonna's touchline antics. My favourite Maradonna quote so far "Pele should go back to the museum". Lets not forget some of the romances that we all love. the story of the underdog, Japan and Slovakia both getting through to the next stages, Honda looks like a class act, I wouldn't be suprised if he is snapped up by one of the big 4 European leagues. Also Slovakia's performance against Italy was tactically spot on.

The major shock of the tournament? France going out? Italy finishing below New Zealand in their group? No, the fact neither team will be missed in the latter stages of the tournament. Both teams froze on the big stage, with a severe lack of passion, urgency, discipline and skill.

Being English I have to mention our team. So far, very poor. We limped into the knockout rounds and now face Germany, and for the first time in the tournament we will be tested defensively, Ozil and co look very sharp going forward, and Lahm looks like a contender for player of the tournament with 3 dynamic performances so far. My verdict? We will win 2-1, just like we did in a friendly, Germany's attacking strength will give us the space to open them up, I hope...

Wednesday, 11 March 2009

She looks like a Barbie.....

Just been watching MADE on MTV, and it was trying to make a "larger" girl help become a beauty queen.

I felt so sorry for the poor girl, given so much hope. She won a beauty competition to be on the front of a magazine. I wonder if the fact that there were MTV cameras filming her maybe influenced any of the voting?

Just as the show was coming to a conclusion , it had the headline "
She Looks Like A Barbie".... all I could think to myself was, NO she doesn't look like a Barbie, you look like 5 Barbies. Harsh, I know, but the truth is.

Thursday, 22 January 2009

ideas are a flowwing

Im starting to have to contemplate what I'm going to do for my third year project. Loads of ideas are rushing through my brain, but my main focus is making sure I eat this lamb hotpot without any spillage.

One of my ideas was to potentially pilot the idea of podcast lectures. This would be useful for students who have missed a lecture for one reason or another. I have been told what software I would need and know people who could teach my how to embed it onto websites. This idea would also be beneficial for students who may of been at the lecture but not in the mindset to learn (hangover!) I just feel this could give both lectures and students a great advantage in the quest for the holy grail... a 2.1 degree.

Another idea I have is to produce a episode of a spoof tv show. My initial inspiraton for this has come from shows such as Darkplace, Peepshow, Teachers, Scrubs and The Office. My idea is to make a Darkplace/ Office style show about the day to day goings on in a library. This as far as I'm aware is an untouched area for the spoof comedy genre. I think with enough time and thought put into it, this could be made into something really funny. There is so much potential for characters and library-based jokes, example being a over the top librarian who loves their job a tad too much and has a "slight" obsession with books. They could be very protective over them, and I could have scenes where they have rants about people who are handing in books late, where they are polite to their face, but completely bitch about them as soon as they leave.

more will be added when I can be bothered to think