This World Cup had the potential to disappoint, especially after the first round of games, or as they should now be renamed the "we must not try to win" games.The best example of this is Ivory Coast vs Portugal. Sven and his Ikea loving crionies must be kicking themselves with their diamond covered heels right now, not having a go at Portugal, now they just need the small matter of 8 goals in the next 15 minutes, I know they're playing North Korea but still I have my doubts.
Then recently it began to spark into life, Portugal's 7 against North Korea, Messi flying and Maradonna's touchline antics. My favourite Maradonna quote so far "Pele should go back to the museum". Lets not forget some of the romances that we all love. the story of the underdog, Japan and Slovakia both getting through to the next stages, Honda looks like a class act, I wouldn't be suprised if he is snapped up by one of the big 4 European leagues. Also Slovakia's performance against Italy was tactically spot on.
The major shock of the tournament? France going out? Italy finishing below New Zealand in their group? No, the fact neither team will be missed in the latter stages of the tournament. Both teams froze on the big stage, with a severe lack of passion, urgency, discipline and skill.
Being English I have to mention our team. So far, very poor. We limped into the knockout rounds and now face Germany, and for the first time in the tournament we will be tested defensively, Ozil and co look very sharp going forward, and Lahm looks like a contender for player of the tournament with 3 dynamic performances so far. My verdict? We will win 2-1, just like we did in a friendly, Germany's attacking strength will give us the space to open them up, I hope...